Twitter – Michelin Sport
Twitter – MIGroup Sport

Motorsport – A High-tech Lab for Michelin

For more than 130 years, Michelin has used sports like endurance racing, rallying and ABB FIA Formula E Championship as laboratories for the evaluation and development of new technologies to accelerate the carry-over of innovations to the tyre ranges it sells over the counter.

Endurance racing has long been embedded in Michelin’s DNA and serves as a unique proving ground for its work on its Performance Made to Last promise. Michelin with their partners has won all FIA World Endurance Championship titles since the beginning in 2012. The 2020 Le Mans 24 Hours saw Michelin establish a new longevity record when a single set of its tyres completed 750 kilometres at an average speed of 240kph.

ABB FIA Formula E Championship emerged as the first world-class motor racing championship to feature electric single-seater cars and Michelin has been involved since its inception in 2014. This pioneering series provides it with the perfect opportunity to incubate and accelerate major technological innovations, including the incorporation of recycled materials in its tyres and the use of connected solutions in the interest of increasingly sustainable mobility.

Rallying is a sport in which Michelin boasts an unrivalled record of 347 victories and 58 world titles since the world championship’s creation in 1973. The FIA World Rally Championship has enabled it to assess new materials across an exceptionally wide variety of extreme conditions, from icy lanes to rock-strewn mountain tracks.

Michelin Motorsport’s record

FIA World Rally Championship
347 wins
First victory: 1973 Rallye Monte-Carlo (Andruet/Biche, Alpine-Renault)
More than 1,000 podium finishes
30 Manufacturers’ world titles
28 Drivers’ world titles
First Manufacturers’ title with Alpine-Renault in 1973
First Drivers’ title with Walter Röhrl in 1982

FIA World Endurance Championship
66 wins
First victory: 2012 12 Hours Sebring (McNish/Kristensen/Capello, Audi)
8 Manufacturers’ titles / 8 Drivers’ titles
8 GT Manufacturers’ titles / 6 GT Drivers’ titles

ABB FIA Formula E Championship
69 wins
First victory: Beijing, 2014
6 Teams’ titles / 6 Drivers’ titles

FIA Formula One World Championship
102 wins / 9 World titles

FIA World Rally Championship

ABB FIA Formula E Championship

FIA World Endurance Championship